December 10, 2019

2019 mentorship awards go to Jane Anau and Dr. Jessica Chubak

Award winners Jane Anau (l) and Jessica Chubak (r).

The honor underscores the institute’s commitment to a work environment that fosters employees’ growth

Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute (KPWHRI) considers it a priority to help its staff and faculty achieve their full potential, and mentorship is a linchpin of that effort.  Accordingly, the Institute presents two annual awards to spotlight individuals who have done outstanding work to promote colleagues’ development.

The 2019 recipient of the Outstanding Staff Mentor Award is Jane Anau, a research project manager who joined KPWHRI in late 2010 and plays a leading role in conducting national studies on bariatric surgery in addition to working on research into shared decision-making and privacy protection, among other subjects. She was praised for offering both professional and personal encouragement to her co-workers. “Jane more than advanced my career,” wrote a colleague who nominated her for the award. “As a result of our relationship she made me become a better person … and I am much more confident now.”

Jessica Chubak, PhD, MBHL, a KPWHRI senior investigator who joined the Institute in 2007 and works to improve cancer diagnosis, treatment, control, and survivorship, was honored with the 2019 Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award. Her nomination also highlighted mentorship that supported personal growth as well as research excellence. “I have a better outlook and attitude toward my work, co-workers, and life in general because of Jessica’s generosity, fairness, level-headedness, and emphasis on ethical conduct of scientific studies,” a colleague wrote.

All KPWHRI staff and faculty are eligible for either award, and the recipients are selected by a committee of their peers.

Others nominated as outstanding staff mentors are Diana Buist, PhD, MPH; Clarissa Hsu, PhD; Kin Lam; Cara Lewis, PhD, HSPP; Brittany Morgan; and Lorella Palazzo, PhD.

Others nominated as outstanding faculty mentors are Sascha Dublin, MD, PhD; and Karen Wernli, PhD

Thanks to the 2018 Mentorship Award Committee members: Erin Bowles, MPH; Helga Ding, DDS, MBA; Gwen Lapham, PhD, MPH; Tanya Matthews, PhD; and Emily Westbrook, MHA.

mentorship at kpwhri

Ashley Glass with her mentor Deborah King

Annual mentorship award honors Deborah King and Dr. Diana Buist

Every year the KPWHRI award recognizes two individuals who provide outstanding service in promoting the career development of others.


2018 CATALyST Scholars

Four CATALyST scholars selected to train as learning health system scientists

KP Washington joins forces with UW, WSU, and the VA to train scientists in transforming health care.