Medication Use & Patient Safety

“We can dramatically improve health care by making sure people get the right medicines at appropriate doses.”

Denise M. Boudreau, RPh, PhD
Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute Senior Investigator

Research overview

Americans are using more prescription drugs than ever. You may worry about side effects, drug interactions, and costs, especially if you use multiple medications. Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute (KPWHRI) scientists are studying the beneficial and harmful effects of medications in real-world settings such as Kaiser Permanente Washington. And they are working on ways to manage and monitor drug use better.

“We can dramatically improve health care by making sure people get the right medicines at appropriate doses,” said Denise M. Boudreau, RPh, PhD, KPWHRI senior investigator. “The Institute contributes to this effort by participating in national initiatives to monitor medication safety. At the personal level, we’re providing information to doctors and patients for weighing the risks and benefits of various prescription drugs.”

Funders of KPWHRI medication use and patient safety research include the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute (PCORI), the Group Health Foundation, and other sources. Projects include:

  • Developing and evaluating a primary care program for safe use of prescription opioids commonly used for pain, such as Oxycontin and Vicodin;
  • Studying the safety of cardiovascular medications, including in older adults;
  • Proactive monitoring of medical products through the FDA Sentinel Initiative;
  • Exploring how genetics might personalize treatments;
  • Studying medication safety during pregnancy;
  • Investigating how medications affect risk of cognitive decline and dementia in late life; and
  • Monitoring vaccine safety and effectiveness.

“Our work gives patients and providers evidence about the outcomes of medication use—both harmful and beneficial—to help them make informed personal decisions about prescription drug use,” said Associate Investigator Sascha Dublin, MD, PhD.

Recent publications on Medication Use & Patient Safety

Salz T, Lavery JA, Lipitz-Snyderman AN, Boudreau DM, Moryl N, Gillespie EF, Korenstein D. Trends in opioid use among older survivors of colorectal, lung, and breast cancers. J Clin Oncol. 2019 Feb 28:JCO1800938. doi: 10.1200/JCO.18.00938. [Epub ahead of print]. PubMed

Pocobelli G, Yu O, Ziebell RA, Aiello Bowles EJ, Fujii MM, Sterrett AT, Boggs JM, Chen L, Boudreau DM, Ritzwoller DP, Hubbard RA, Chubak J. Use of antidepressants after colon cancer diagnosis and risk of recurrence. Psychooncology. 2019 Jan 31. doi: 10.1002/pon.5015. [Epub ahead of print]. PubMed

Kline-Simon AH, Stumbo SP, Campbell CI, Binswanger IA, Weisner C, Haller IV, Hechter RC, Ahmedani BK, Lapham GT, Loree AM, Sterling SA, Yarborough BJH. Patient characteristics associated with treatment initiation and engagement among individuals diagnosed with alcohol and other drug use disorders in emergency department and primary care settings. Subst Abus. 2019 Jan 31:1-7. doi: 10.1080/08897077.2018.1547812. [Epub ahead of print]. PubMed

Masters ET, Ramaprasan A, Mardekian J, Palmer RE, Gross DE, Cronkite D, Von Korff M, Carrell DS. Natural language processing-identified problem opioid use and its associated health care costs. J Pain Palliat Care Pharmacother. 2019 Jan 31:1-10. doi: 10.1080/15360288.2018.1488794. [Epub ahead of print]. PubMed

Loree AM, Yeh HH, Satre DD, Kline-Simon AH, Jo H Yarborough B, Haller IV, Campbell CI, Lapham GT, Hechter RC, Binswanger IA, Weisner C, Ahmedani BK. Psychiatric comorbidity and Healthcare Effectiveness Data and Information Set (HEDIS) measures of alcohol and other drug treatment initiation and engagement across 7 health care systems. Subst Abus. 2019 Jan 25:1-7. doi: 10.1080/08897077.2018.1545727. [Epub ahead of print]. PubMed

Researchers in Medication Use & Patient Safety

Jennifer C. Nelson, PhD

Director of Biostatistics; Senior Investigator
206-287-2004
Jen.Nelson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Denise M. Boudreau, PhD

Sr Investigator, Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute
206-287-2067
Denise.M.Boudreau@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Andrea J. Cook, PhD

Senior Investigator
206-287-4257
Andrea.J.Cook@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Sascha Dublin, MD, PhD

Senior Investigator
206-287-2870
Sascha.Dublin@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Michael L. Jackson, PhD, MPH

Associate Investigator
206-287-2220
Michael.L.Jackson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Andrea Z. LaCroix, PhD

Senior Investigator
858-822-1073
Alacroix@ucsd.edu

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Eric B. Larson, MD, MPH, MACP

Vice President for Research and Health Care Innovation, Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of Washington; Executive Director & Senior Investigator, Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute
206-287-2988
Eric.B.Larson@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Diana L. Miglioretti, PhD

Senior Investigator

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Bruce M. Psaty, MD, PhD

Senior Investigator
206-543-0710
psaty@u.washington.edu

Curriculum vitae (CV)

David E. Arterburn, MD, MPH

Sr Investigator, Kaiser Permanente Washington Health Research Institute; Physician, Washington Permanente Medicial Group, Internal Medicine
206-287-4610
David.E.Arterburn@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Jessica Chubak, PhD, MBHL

Senior Investigator
206-287-2556
Jessica.Chubak@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Susan M. Shortreed, PhD

Associate Investigator
206-287-2088
Susan.M.Shortreed@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Karen Wernli, PhD

Associate Investigator
206-287-2934
Karen.J.Wernli@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Ellen O'Meara, PhD

Research Associate
206-287-2938
Ellen.S.O'Meara@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Onchee Yu, MS

Senior Biostatistician
206-287-2389
Onchee.Yu@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Rod L. Walker, MS

Biostatistician
206-287-2895
Rod.L.Walker@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Robert D. Wellman, MS

Biostatistician
206-287-2557
Robert.D.Wellman@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Gaia Pocobelli, PhD

Research Associate
287-2914
Gaia.S.Pocobelli@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

David S. Carrell, PhD

Assistant Investigator
206-287-2705
David.S.Carrell@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Lu Chen, PhD, MPH

Assistant Investigator
206-287-2024
Lu.Chen@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Laura Harrington, PhD, MPH

Assistant Investigator
206-287-2066
Laura.B.Harrington@kp.org

Curriculum vitae (CV)

Affiliate researchers

Susan Heckbert, MD, PhD
University of Washington (UW) Department of Epidemiology; UW Cardiovascular Health Research Unit

David Siscovick, MD, MPH
UW Department of Medicine; UW Department of Epidemiology; UW Cardiovascular Health Research Unit

Leslie Spangler, PhD
Amgen